My Favorite American Idol Performances

I am such an AI fan!  I think the only seasons I failed to watch were Seasons 1, 2 and 9. Because I am such a big fan I created a list of my favorite american idol performances – in no particular order:

And I am Telling You by Jessica Sanchez and Jennifer Holiday

This song is one of the most powerful songs ever sang on the Idol Stage to date. I had chills and goose bumps when I watched Jessica Sanchez and Jennifer Holiday performed this song during the 2012 Finale. Great Song. Great Singers. Best Duet.

Desperado by Camille Velasco

Although the judges didn’t give Camille good reviews about her performance, I still loved it – given the fact that I am not so familiar with this Eagles classic.

Inseparable by Jasmine Trias

If you are one of my college friends, you would know that I am a Jasmine Trias fan. I love her. She’s just the sweetest. Although I loved most of her renditions on American Idol, I chose Inseparable since  this song really made a mark on her.

 Dance with my Father Again by Jessica Sanchez

This is one of my favorite songs – and Jessica’s version was probably the best version I had ever heard.

Daniel by Thia Megia

If I am not mistaken, this was the song Thia sung when she got voted off – but I love her version. It was also the sweetest when she dedicated the song to her brother.

I Believe by Diana de Garmo

I love her version more than that of Fantasia. Diana is one of the youngest contestants on Idol and one of the best singers as well. However, Carrie Underwood still tops my list!

 Do I Make You Proud by Taylor Hicks

This would probably be my favorite finale song ever. Even though I wanted Katharine Mc Phee to win back then, Taylor got me when he sung this song.

 Your Song by Casey Abrams

I was just the saddest when Casey Abrams had to leave the idol stage. He was one of my favorites. He was worth the one time judge’s save during AI 2011. I loved his version of Your Song and I watched it a gazillion times on You Tube.

 Piece of my Heart by Haley Reinhart

I love the growling! Girl Power indeed. My favorite song from Haley Reinhart.

 Heartless by Kris Allen

Kris Allen’s version was even better than that of Kanye West. I love how he made this song his own by making it an acoustic. I think girls are drooling when he sang this song during the finale. Oh well, including me.

 Home by Elliot Yamin

One of my favorite idol contestants too. I idolized Elliot Yammin not only as an artist, but as a son to his mom.


Bohemian Rhapsody by Constantine Maroulis

Simon Cowell only said one word after Constantine’s performance: Astonishing!

 Always be my Baby by David Cook

Mariah Carey was even surprised that a song like this can be sung by a guy. David Cook is really an artist.

 Somewhere Over the Rainbow by Katharine Mc Phee

Simon Cowell made a great decision choosing this song for Katharine Mc Phee. I love her version. One of the sweetest voices and moving performances on idol stage.

Angels Brought me Here by David Archuleta/ Carrie Underwood

I can’t choose a better version because they both did a great job. I was teary eyed after watching Carrie Underwood’s performance. David’s version was incredibly superb too.

I am so excited to watch AI’s next season and update  this list! And I know I speak on every AI fan’s behalf when I say I hope Simon Cowell comes back! 🙂

Leave a comment